If you have been arrested, charged, or cited for a driving crime, it is important that you understand the charges against you and what your legal rights are. Idaho criminal and traffic law can be complex. You should not try to take on the criminal justice system on your own.
Reckless driving is defined as operating a motor vehicle carelessly, heedlessly, without due caution, or at a speed, or in a manner, as to endanger the public or property.
Do not take a reckless driving charge lightly! Reckless driving is not a speeding ticket, it is a crime! The consequences of a conviction can be severe and long-term.
Penalties for a first reckless driving conviction include up to $1000 fine and/or 6-months in jail. A conviction is also likely to result in a drivers license suspension of 90 - 180 days. A second conviction for reckless driving within five years has increased penalties and can result in up to $2000 fine and/or 1-year in jail. (See: Idaho Code §49-1401).
In addition to the penalties ordered by the court, a conviction can cause significant financial harm. If you work in an industry that requires you to drive as part of your job, your employer may fire you due to a suspended license or increases to the cost of their liability insurance. Monthly premiums for your personal auto insurance may drastically increase. In the long run you may actually save money by fighting this charge.
Fight Your Reckless Driving Charge!
Reckless driving cases are winnable. The prosecutor is hoping you will roll over and plead - Don't fall into this trap! Even if you don't want to go to trial, I have had a high success rate of getting these cases reduced to a lesser charge or dismissed!
Hire A Lawyer That Will Fight For You!
Do not fight the system on your own, you have too much on the line! Protect your rights and your freedom! Call me today for a free consultation!