Idaho DUI - DUI First Offense
Even if you are a first-time offender, a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction in Idaho comes with some very serious penalties and punishments.
DUI First Offense
Incarceration, steep fines, and counseling are just a few of the possible outcomes. In addition, your driver's license will automatically be suspended for a minimum of 30 days, possibly much longer. Your best chance of avoiding or reducing any of these penalties is to seek the expertise of an experienced DUI attorney who is familiar with Idaho DUI law.
First Offense DUI - Penalties and Punishments
If you are convicted of a first DUI offense in Idaho, there are a number of potential consequences for a first-time DUI conviction:
Idaho DUI Penalties - Jail time
There is no minimum jail time for those receiving a first-time DUI in Idaho. Therefore, those convicted could face no jail time at all. However, the state reserves the right to impose a six-month jail sentence. Likely, any conviction will result in a jail sentence, the amount of time will depend on the severity of the crime. Most first-time DUI offenders can complete their "jail time" through community service, or SLD, instead of actually sitting behind bars.
Idaho DUI Penalties - License Suspension
It's highly likely your license will be suspended for a period of 90 to 180 days. The absolute minimum is 30 days. After 30 days, most drivers can apply for a restricted license to get from work to home and to medical appointments.
Idaho DUI Penalties - Fines
The maximum fine for a misdemeanor DUI conviction is $1,000, but steep fees associated with alcohol education, license reinstatement and more should be expected.
Idaho DUI Penalties - Alcohol Evaluation
Those convicted of drunk driving must complete an alcohol evaluation and comply with any counseling or rehabilitation recommended by the evaluator.
Idaho DUI Penalties - Victims Panel
Those convicted of drunk driving must participate in the Victims Panel, a one day class where people who have had their lives changed due to DUI age given the chance to tell their story.
Idaho DUI Penalties - Ignition Interlock Device Penalty
As of January 1st, 2019 all first time DUI offenders are required to have a one year ignition interlock device in their vehicle. The device, which measures your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) before allowing the car to start, will be installed and maintained at the expense of the driver. To learn more about this rule take a look at the blog article New Harsher Penalties For First Time DUI Offenders.
For more information about the charge of DUI, see Idaho Code §18-8004.
For more information on penalties see: Idaho Code §18-8005 - Penalties.
Boise DUI Charges | Ada County DUI | Canyon County DUI
While we represent DUI charges across the state of Idaho, many of our clients are in the Boise area (Ada County). Charges in Ada County have their own set of potential difficulties. We have vast experience representing clients in Ada County and are prepared for whatever challenges we encounter in your case.
Hire A Lawyer That Will Fight For You
If you are charged with a DUI in Idaho, you need a lawyer that will fight to protect your rights. Call me today for a free consultation!