As a second-time offender, a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction in Idaho comes with some very serious penalties and punishments.
Once again incarceration, steep fines and counseling are just a few of the possible outcomes for a second DUI offense . In addition, your driver's license will automatically be suspended for a minimum of one year, possibly much longer. Your best chance of avoiding or reducing any of these penalties is to seek the expertise of an experienced DUI attorney who is familiar with Idaho DUI law.
Idaho DUI Lawyers | Boise DUI Lawyers | William Young and Associates
DUI Second Offense
In Idaho if you are charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) for a second time within 10 years, you are facing enhanced penalties. Although still considered a misdemeanor offense, a second DUI conviction comes with mandatory jail time, a spike in fines, and many other possible penalties.
Because the punishments are more severe, a second DUI conviction can wreak havoc on your life, both personally and professionally. It is critical to see an attorney who is experienced in second DUI charges to help ease the burden and walk you through the process.
If you're facing a second DUI charge in Idaho, here is a list of the potential consequences:
Jail time is mandatory. The minimum sentence for second-time DUI offenders in Idaho is 10 days, but the state reserves the right to impose a one-year jail sentence.
Your driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory minimum sentence of one year, but many suspensions last longer.
The maximum fine for a second drunk driving conviction is $2,000.
Ignition Interlock Device
As of January 1st, 2019 a second DUI conviction will result in the immediate installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (if given permission to drive after one year). The device, which measures your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) before allowing the car to start, will be installed and maintained at the expense of the driver. To learn more about this rule take a look at the blog article New Harsher Penalties For First Time DUI Offenders.
Any conviction will result in extensive alcohol education and rehabilitation.
For more information, see Idaho Code §18-8005 - Penalties.
Call Me To Discuss Your Case
If you are charged with a DUI in Idaho, you need a lawyer that will fight to protect your rights. Call me today for a free consultation!