If you have been arrested and charged with a sex crime, it is important that you understand the charges against you and what your legal rights are. Idaho sex crime laws can be complex and severe. You should not try to take on the criminal justice system on your own.
It can be difficult to overcome the stigma and shame that surrounds any sex crime allegations. The community, the media, and law enforcement are often quick to make an assumption of guilt and attack the defendant's reputation before a single piece of evidence is ever presented. Unfortunately, when it comes to sex crime cases, the prevailing attitude is "guilty until proven innocent." This is why it is so important to hire an attorney who will stand by you and defend your rights, your reputation, and your presumption of innocence.
A conviction for a sex crime can carry serious short and long term consequences affecting your freedom, employment, personal relationships, and reputation. An experienced Idaho attorney is your best bet for fighting the case successfully.
Your story is important! Let me fight to protect your rights, your future, your reputation, and your freedom!
Innocent People Get Accused!
Unfortunately, innocent people get wrongly accused of sex crimes in Idaho. False allegations can arise out of anger, jealousy, or as part of divorce or child custody proceedings.
Under Idaho Code §18-6101, statutory rape consists of any penetration where the victim is younger than 16 years-old and the defendant is at least 18 years-old OR where the victim is 16 or 17 years of age and the defendant is at least 3 years older than the victim. Statutory rape is still rape! It should be treated seriously as, under Idaho Code §18-6104, it is punishable by a minimum of 1 year and up to life in prison.
Under Idaho Code §18-6101, rape is forcible or non-consensual penetration. The facts and circumstances of the case will determine the potential punishments but under Idaho Code §18-6104 rape is punishable by not less than 1 year and up to life in prison.
Sexual Battery Of A Minor
Under Idaho Code §18-1508A, a sexual battery of a minor occurs when any person 5 years or more older, has contact with a minor who is 16 or 17 years of age, with the intent of arousing or gratifying lust, passion, or sexual desires.
Lewd or Lascivious Conduct
Under Idaho Code §18-1508, lewd or lascivious conduct is any sexual contact with a minor under the age of 16, with the intent of arousing or gratifying lust, passion, or sexual desires. This is a felony with a punishment of up to life in prison.
Hire A Lawyer That Will Fight For You!
If you are charged with a sex crime, your freedom and your future are on the line! Let me fight to protect your rights and keep you out of jail! Call me today for a free consultation!