A third Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction in Idaho comes with some very serious penalties and punishments.
In Idaho a third or subsequent DUI conviction is a felony DUI. Felony DUI offenses create more complications than misdemeanor DUI offenses, including stiffer penalties and lifelong problems gaining employment (many employers have policies against hiring felons), obtaining insurance, and exercising some civil liberties.
What are the Penalties for A Third Or Subsequent DUI?
The penalties that can result from this conviction are the following:
- Prison Sentence
Because it's a felony charge, a third DUI conviction can result in a prison sentence. Even if the court chooses not to put you in prison, it is almost guaranteed that the sentence will include an extensive county jail term. The minimum sentence for third-time DUI offenders is 30 days in jail. But, the court reserves the right to impose up to a ten-year prison sentence.
- License Suspension
Your driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory minimum of one-year, but depending on the case, suspensions can last up to five years.
The maximum fine for a third DUI conviction is $5,000.
For more information, see: Idaho Code §18-8005 - Penalties.
Contact me to Discuss Your Case
When you are facing a felony DUI offense, it is critical to see an attorney who is experienced in Idaho DUI law to help you get the best possible outcome. Call me today for a free consultation.