In Idaho, A Third Or Subsequent DUI Conviction Is A Felony
A third DUI violation within five (5) years or a subsequent DUI violation with a previous Felony DUI or Aggravated DUI within ten (10) years, including withheld judgments, is a FELONY
Prison Sentence Because it's a felony charge, a third DUI conviction can result in a prison sentence. Even if the court chooses not to throw you in prison, it is almost guaranteed that the sentence will include an extensive county jail term. The minimum sentence for third-time DUI offenders is 30 days in jail. But, the court reserves the right to impose up to a ten-year prison sentence.
License Suspension Your driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory minimum of one-year, but depending on the case, suspensions can last up to five years.
Fines The maximum fine for a third DUI conviction is $5,000.
For more information, see: Idaho Code §18-8005 - Penalties.
Ray Razaqi Reply
Posted Sep 23, 2020 at 16:59:27
I was sentenced to rider program on October 1st 2019 for my third DUI which was felony charge. When can I be eligible for my driving permit?
William Young Reply
Posted Sep 24, 2020 at 11:37:58
Every case is different and, as I was not involved in your case, I can not give you an exact answer. The specifics of your license suspension will be included in the Order signed by the court at the time of sentencing. I would look to that document for answers.
Leave a Comment